We’re happy to announce the launch of course completion settings feature which allows managers to be able to decide, how and when is a course (and any learning asset) considered complete.
The Course completion feature is available as a global settings which account owners can set. The course completion feature can also be enabled as a part of every course allowing managers to override settings on an individual course basis.
When learners go through a learning asset individually, or a full course - it is important to both track progress as well as track the completion of that asset.
Tracking completion as a milestone is important so that further actions could be done, for example issuing a certificate when a course was completed, notifying the administrator about completion and so forth.
We gathered feedback from dozens of L&D managers in order to understand how to track course completion. We also attempted to answer the following questions:
- When is a learning asset (including courses) considered complete.
- Can managers / L&D managers control these settings and change them per course?
- What happens when a user completes a course.
- What else needs to be tracked?
Our approach Course completion
We have taken the following approach to enable course completion
— allow manual completion of assets where possible
— allow manual completion of assets with conditions (example evaluating the time spent on a course or evaluating the mininmum required time to be spent on an asset or a course)
Our solution approach for course and asset completions
You can setup completion settings with:
— An always on complete button so that the user can simply mark any learning asset or course as complete (default option) - This means that the user will see a complete button by default enabled on every asset and a course.
— Complete button towards the end of the course or asset (mainly tracks the videos in the course including Youtube videos) - This means that the user will see a complete button by enabled towards the end of the asset and a course.
— Complete button after user has spent a certain percentage of time on videos (default setting is 80%) - This means that the user will see a complete button enabled on every asset and a course after the user has atleast spent 80% of the length of the video. .
The complete button will be available within the course player, asset player or the social feed.
Fig: An example of a complete button
Disabling Video controls and forcing content sequences
With compeletion settings, you can additionally disable video controls (this is to ensure that the learner does not skip parts or the length of the video).
An additional setting also enables forcing of sequences i.e. users cannot skip to different learning assets within courses without previously completing everything else.
Please note that controls / sequences are only available within courses and do not apply to individual learning assets.
Fig: Sequences + Disabling video controls
Send us your feedback
We’d love to get any feedback on this feature. Please use the website chat feature, or the contact us button to get in touch with the engineering / product team with feedback around completion settings.